The people in this world can be classified into two types mainly – Vegetarians and Non-vegetarians! However, if one would look closely, the line between the two categories is actually blurred, making man rather an omnivore! There are certain food items deemed veg, but actually have non-veg element or ingredient in it! Here is a list of 10 such food items! (Beware to be marveled/shocked!)
The star of our outdoor meals, naan uses egg to knead the dough and make it soft. Not all use eggs, so you may want to confirm it with the chef before ordering!
Everybody’s favorite delicacy, cheese is irresistible specially in pizza, burgers, lasagna. But, did you know that some variants of cheese have an enzyme called Rennet? It is derived from gastrointestinal tract of animals.
(3) Salad Dressing
Exotic dressing over salad, not only looks great, but is also a health conscious food that one can relish. But, many have eggs in it. So, if you are an eggitarian, then go ahead and keep relishing!
(4) Chewing Gum
One of the primary ingredients of gums is gelatine – derived from the skin, tendons, ligaments and bones of pigs and cows! Now you know what you chew onto!
Again, eggs are used for kneading and softening the dough. Although, eggless cakes are popular too, but the ones with eggs too dominate the market!
Chocolates are everyone’s temptation that is hard to beat. But, it also has a hard fact that should be checked out before buying. It may contain Rennet, that is extracted from calf’s stomach after slaughter.
The delicious and handy doughnut may contain an enzyme called L. Cysteine which is used for conditioning the dough. Surprisingly, it is made from duck feather and pig trotter!
(8) Packed Orange Juice
It is tasty and relinquishes our thirst on a hot day, with added minerals that ups its health quotient. But, some juices have omega-3 fatty acids which come from fish oils. The abundant vitamin D in the juice is derived from lanolin, natural oil found in the fibre of sheep’s wool.
(9) White Sugar
This is an everyday item that is used in a plethora of dishes and drinks, but the “natural carbon” used for bleaching comes from charred animal bones. Most of the companies prefer granular carbon because it doesn’t contain animal products. It’s better to use brown sugar.
You might be in love with the beer’s golden color, but there is the creepy truth behind it. Many makers use fish bladders i.e. “Isinglass” for clarifying the beer and giving it a good color. Care for another drink?